Talk About Marriage banner
Status
Not open for further replies.

Do widowers stop loving their first?

15K views 36 replies 28 participants last post by  sokillme 
#1 ·
I mean after many years do you just stop loving them and forget about them?

Just curious, I think this topic is one of the saddest ever and that no one should have to experience this :\ very depressing. Even coming in here makes me over think and worry.

#2 ·
I don't think so.....

We know an older couple (mid 70's I'm guessing) both were widowed and then they married each other.

In their home office thay have a wall that has pictures of her life before, complete with first husband, kids etc....on the other side of the same wall are pictures of his first wedding, first wife, kids and in the middle is a picture of them and current pictures of all their kids and grandkids.

They call it the Wall of good Memories. I think it's pretty cool too.

#3 ·
I have no personal experience (Thank God) but I can't imagine that I'd just quit loving my wife just because she happened to be dead. Her exit from the marriage wouldn't have been her choice or mine. Certainly, they could learn to love someone else, but the deceased spouse would always occupy a special place in their heart and that's how it should be.

#4 ·
I don't believe that our love for someone dies when they cease to live. Our love for them is part of our memory of them and is with us forever.

However, there are many different types of love, and I believe that if we lose a life partner it is certainly possible to love again without it in any way diminishing the love we had for the deceased...

#5 ·
I don't believe that our love for someone dies when they cease to live. Our love for them is part of our memory of them and is with us forever.

However, there are many different types of love, and I believe that if we lose a life partner it is certainly possible to love again without it in any way diminishing the love we had for the deceased..