Book Reviews - Talk About Marriage
User Tag List

 1Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
post #1 of 18 (permalink) Old 08-26-2008, 11:55 AM Thread Starter
Forum Supporter
 
draconis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: North East
Posts: 3,707
Book Reviews

TITLE:
RATING:
AUTHOR(s):
PUBLISHER:
ISBN:
WHAT YOU LIKED/DISLIKED:

draconis is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 18 (permalink) Old 08-26-2008, 12:04 PM Thread Starter
Forum Supporter
 
draconis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: North East
Posts: 3,707
Re: Book Reviews

TITLE:The Seven Principles for Making Marriage Work
RATING:****1/2 (of 5 stars)
AUTHOR(s):John Gottman, Nan Silver
PUBLISHER:Three Rivers Press paperback 288 pags
ISBN:0609805797
WHAT YOU LIKED/DISLIKED:He drives home the need for friendship and communications.

Here is an example of how it works.

Just hit the quote on the first post then fill in the rest if you can. You can delete the quotes if you want to have the look I do above. Try to give a longer discription then I did so people really know what they will be geting from the book.

draconis
draconis is offline  
post #3 of 18 (permalink) Old 08-26-2008, 06:51 PM
Member
 
Blanca's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 4,027
Re: Book Reviews

TITLE:Seat of the Soul
RATING:****1/2 (of 5 stars)
AUTHOR(s):Gary Zukav
WHAT I LIKED:Feeling like i had been disillusioned in my marriage i became very angry. i felt like everything i was going through was something i should have never had to deal with. i thought the lies and deceit i had to deal with were completely unfair. This book has changed my perspective and calmed my anger. Even though this book teaches about reincarnation and I do not personally believe in that, I found the lessons to be helpful anyway. Its about changing one's perspective to view pain and suffering as a healing process. Its about having more awareness about what one is putting out and how that is effecting what one is getting in return. It teaches one how to deal compassionately with offenses by not judging another. This book will help no matter what situation you are in because its about healing yourself and focusing on becoming a more enlighten person.
Blanca is offline  
 
post #4 of 18 (permalink) Old 08-27-2008, 11:33 AM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Near Chicago
Posts: 3,278
Re: Book Reviews

TITLE:Safe Haven Marriage
RATING:****
AUTHOR(s):Dr. Archibald D. Hart/Dr. Sharon Hart Morris
PUBLISHER:W Publishing Group
ISBN:0-7852-8947-X
WHAT YOU LIKED/DISLIKED:Great for improving communication/promotes understanding and emotional closeness. I liked the section on healing.

TITLE:It's A Guy Thing. An Owner's Manual for Women
RATING:***
AUTHOR(s):David Deida
PUBLISHER:Health Communications, Inc.
ISBN:978-1-55874-464-6
WHAT YOU LIKED/DISLIKED:I liked his direct approach on highlighting fundamental differences between men and women. It did make me look at things differently...for example, if my husband is focused on a ball game or woodworking project not to take it personal if he can't 'switch gears' and have a conversation with me. What I didn't like was how in some ways he seemed to generalize men.
swedish is offline  
post #5 of 18 (permalink) Old 08-27-2008, 12:21 PM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Southern California
Posts: 76
Re: Book Reviews

TITLE:The Five Love Languages
RATING:****
AUTHOR(s):Gary Chapman
PUBLISHER:Northfield Publishing
ISBN:1881273156
WHAT YOU LIKED/DISLIKED:
The Five Love Languages really is a must read for just about everyone, hopefully before they get married.

The author states that people each have a specific "language" they speak when it comes to love. They use this language to show their love for someone else, and it is the language they understand most in turn. He breaks it down into five primary languages: words of affirmation, quality time, acts of service, receiving gifts, and physical touch. Unfortunately, few couples speak the same "love language" and that's where things fall apart once the honeymoon phase (anywhere from 6 months to 2 years) ends.

In order for a marriage to be truly happy, each partner needs to find out from their spouse exactly what it is that makes them feel most connected and loved, and then make doing that a priority. While the book tends to give examples of extremes (if "Words of Affirmation" is your primary language then you can't understand or need any of the others at all) and I tend to think in reality people can have two, or even more, languages that are important to them, it is still an excellent book to help you figure out what your language is and the importance of both partners to focus on what their spouse needs most.

The other great thing about this book is that is not just written for a spouse feeling in trouble, it's not about solving a specific issue, and it's not preachy. It is as important to read before a marriage starts as it is after a chasm has already been opened. It's about helping both partners stop making assumptions about their spouses needs based on their own, and helping them uncover the necessary information they need to show each other love in the way that is most important to each.

Last edited by BlueCreek; 08-27-2008 at 05:39 PM.
BlueCreek is offline  
post #6 of 18 (permalink) Old 08-27-2008, 03:11 PM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Near Chicago
Posts: 3,278
Re: Book Reviews


I was hoping someone would add this one (I'm starting to feel like I'm over-selling it in this forum)
swedish is offline  
post #7 of 18 (permalink) Old 10-27-2008, 12:07 PM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Near Chicago
Posts: 3,278
Re: Book Reviews

TITLE:The Proper Care and Feeding of Husbands
RATING:****
AUTHOR(s): Dr. Laura Schlessinger
PUBLISHER:HarperCollins Publisher
ISBN:0-06-089635-3
WHAT YOU LIKED/DISLIKED: I personally liked the overall theme which is shared by many other marriage books (The 5 Love Languages, the movie Fireproof, etc.) that the real key is to focus on giving and what you are doing to make your spouse happy, rather than on what he isn't doing. I am most at peace with my role as wife/mother and until I realized that my career doesn't do much for me (other than $) I think I was pulled in different directions as far as where my focus should be and I never felt happy...always scrambling to get through each day. So her views that feminism have had a negative impact on marriages and traditional roles of the husband/wife may not be for everyone but I could relate in a positive way to what she had to say.
swedish is offline  
post #8 of 18 (permalink) Old 11-05-2008, 10:35 PM
Member
 
Blanca's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 4,027
Re: Book Reviews

TITLE: Relationship Rescue book and workbook
RATING:****
AUTHOR(s): Dr. Phil McGraw
WHAT I LIKED: Dr. Phil really hit the nail on the head with how i was feeling. There was a lot in my marriage that I thought was just unfair. I wanted to "fix" my H. I thought if he would just change xyz then i could be happy. After reading this book I learned that was not what love was and to be truly happy I needed to respect who he was and let him express himself. i wanted to change my H so i could be happy, and we could have a good relationship. but by reading about how to respect mine and my H's boundaries, and make myself happy, i was able to not take everything my H does so personally.

The only thing i didnt like about this book was it was redundant. He says the same things over and over and over.

TITLE: Boundaries in Marriage book & workbook, 2006
RATING:***
AUTHOR(s): Henry Cloud & John Townsend
WHAT I LIKED: Again, just emphasis how to clear up resentment and learn to actually love your spouse.

The only thing i dont like about this book is it is very religion centered.

"I'm a lover of what is, not because I'm a spiritual person, but because it hurts when I argue with reality."
- Bryon Katie
Blanca is offline  
post #9 of 18 (permalink) Old 11-08-2008, 04:41 PM
Jason
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Re: Book Reviews

Quote:
Originally Posted by BlueCreek View Post
TITLE:The Five Love Languages
RATING:****
AUTHOR(s):Gary Chapman
PUBLISHER:Northfield Publishing
ISBN:1881273156
WHAT YOU LIKED/DISLIKED:
The Five Love Languages really is a must read for just about everyone, hopefully before they get married.

The author states that people each have a specific "language" they speak when it comes to love. They use this language to show their love for someone else, and it is the language they understand most in turn. He breaks it down into five primary languages: words of affirmation, quality time, acts of service, receiving gifts, and physical touch. Unfortunately, few couples speak the same "love language" and that's where things fall apart once the honeymoon phase (anywhere from 6 months to 2 years) ends.

In order for a marriage to be truly happy, each partner needs to find out from their spouse exactly what it is that makes them feel most connected and loved, and then make doing that a priority. While the book tends to give examples of extremes (if "Words of Affirmation" is your primary language then you can't understand or need any of the others at all) and I tend to think in reality people can have two, or even more, languages that are important to them, it is still an excellent book to help you figure out what your language is and the importance of both partners to focus on what their spouse needs most.

The other great thing about this book is that is not just written for a spouse feeling in trouble, it's not about solving a specific issue, and it's not preachy. It is as important to read before a marriage starts as it is after a chasm has already been opened. It's about helping both partners stop making assumptions about their spouses needs based on their own, and helping them uncover the necessary information they need to show each other love in the way that is most important to each.
I have to agree with this book as a MUST read. I bought it this morning, and am already half way thru it. I'm still learning what my wife and I are for languages but I have no doubt this book is a positive influence for marriages.
post #10 of 18 (permalink) Old 11-20-2008, 11:40 AM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Near Chicago
Posts: 3,278
Re: Book Reviews


I think if my own kids ever marry this will be included with their wedding gift...I know I wish I read it years ago!

swedish is offline  
post #11 of 18 (permalink) Old 12-13-2008, 06:31 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 47
Re: Book Reviews

Quote:
Originally Posted by ljtseng View Post
TITLE: Relationship Rescue book and workbook
RATING:****
AUTHOR(s): Dr. Phil McGraw
WHAT I LIKED: Dr. Phil really hit the nail on the head with how i was feeling. There was a lot in my marriage that I thought was just unfair. I wanted to "fix" my H. I thought if he would just change xyz then i could be happy. After reading this book I learned that was not what love was and to be truly happy I needed to respect who he was and let him express himself. i wanted to change my H so i could be happy, and we could have a good relationship. but by reading about how to respect mine and my H's boundaries, and make myself happy, i was able to not take everything my H does so personally.

The only thing i didnt like about this book was it was redundant. He says the same things over and over and over.

TITLE: Boundaries in Marriage book & workbook, 2006
RATING:***
AUTHOR(s): Henry Cloud & John Townsend
WHAT I LIKED: Again, just emphasis how to clear up resentment and learn to actually love your spouse.

The only thing i dont like about this book is it is very religion centered.

I think I will try this one, I think I could get some good advice from it.
Jessica5971 is offline  
post #12 of 18 (permalink) Old 01-19-2009, 12:43 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1
Thumbs up Re: Book Reviews

TITLE: Please put the toilet seat down and 49 other cluetoons to help him improve your relationship
RATING:****1/2 (of 5 stars)
AUTHOR(s): Darcy Frew
ILLUSTRATOR: John Blair Moore
PUBLISHER:Libra Press
ISBN:978-0615216232
WHAT YOU LIKED/DISLIKED:
I liked this book because it's meant for women to give to their significant other. The book book is a quick read and covers a variety of relationship topics, like helping with the housework, the children, finances, intimacy, etc. Each topic has a cartoon, so the male will be more willing to read it. It was really fun to read with my husband and it worked! He started helping me around the house and showing more appreciation for what I do. It's worth checking out. You can buy it directly from the book website at Cluetoons.com or it's on Amazon as well.
Ladybug is offline  
post #13 of 18 (permalink) Old 01-20-2009, 09:23 AM
Member
 
Blanca's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 4,027
Re: Book Reviews

TITLE: The Anatomy of Peace: Resolving the Heart of Conflict
RATING: ****
AUTHOR(s): The Arbinger Institute
ISBN-13: 978-1576753347
WHAT YOU LIKED/DISLIKED:

This was a great read. This book talks about going to war (in ones relationships) with a heart at peace. I very much feel that marriage is the art of war. I really liked the focus of building the relationship, creating a strong foundation, and working one's way up the ladder to correcting unwanted behaviors.

"The choice between peace and war lies within us."

"I'm a lover of what is, not because I'm a spiritual person, but because it hurts when I argue with reality."
- Bryon Katie
Blanca is offline  
post #14 of 18 (permalink) Old 02-19-2010, 07:33 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 40
Re: Book Reviews

Quote:
Originally Posted by BlueCreek View Post
TITLE:The Five Love Languages
RATING:****
AUTHOR(s):Gary Chapman
PUBLISHER:Northfield Publishing
ISBN:1881273156
WHAT YOU LIKED/DISLIKED:
The Five Love Languages really is a must read for just about everyone, hopefully before they get married.

The author states that people each have a specific "language" they speak when it comes to love. They use this language to show their love for someone else, and it is the language they understand most in turn. He breaks it down into five primary languages: words of affirmation, quality time, acts of service, receiving gifts, and physical touch. Unfortunately, few couples speak the same "love language" and that's where things fall apart once the honeymoon phase (anywhere from 6 months to 2 years) ends.

In order for a marriage to be truly happy, each partner needs to find out from their spouse exactly what it is that makes them feel most connected and loved, and then make doing that a priority. While the book tends to give examples of extremes (if "Words of Affirmation" is your primary language then you can't understand or need any of the others at all) and I tend to think in reality people can have two, or even more, languages that are important to them, it is still an excellent book to help you figure out what your language is and the importance of both partners to focus on what their spouse needs most.

The other great thing about this book is that is not just written for a spouse feeling in trouble, it's not about solving a specific issue, and it's not preachy. It is as important to read before a marriage starts as it is after a chasm has already been opened. It's about helping both partners stop making assumptions about their spouses needs based on their own, and helping them uncover the necessary information they need to show each other love in the way that is most important to each.
Excellent summary by BlueCreek. I just read this and would give it 5 stars! It is easy to read, and there will be many take aways for anyone who reads it! I too wish I had read it MANY years ago. I have already given copies to 3 friends!!
TempTime is offline  
post #15 of 18 (permalink) Old 02-19-2010, 10:39 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Indiana
Posts: 7,558
Re: Book Reviews

TITLE:Not Just Friends
RATING:****
AUTHOR(s):S. Glass
PUBLISHER:
ISBN:
WHAT YOU LIKED/DISLIKED: Deals primarily with Emotional Affairs, while most books seem to assume there is always sex involved. Goes through everything from how you may have gotten to the where you are to what you might need to consider for your future.

Only "dislike" was my wife trying to use her list of "risk factors" as a list of excuses. But that's not the books fault.
nice777guy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on Talk About Marriage, you must first register. Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

Important! Your username will be visible to the public next to anything you post and could show up in search engines like Google. If you are concerned about anonymity, PLEASE choose a username that will not be recognizable to anyone you know.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NMMNG and MMSL negative reviews??? WanderingTheDesert Sex in Marriage 7 12-01-2012 06:29 PM
Need reviews on 3 programs for a possible purchase Firebott Self-Help Marriage & Relationship Programs 1 08-22-2010 12:14 AM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome