Talk About Marriage

Talk About Marriage (https://talkaboutmarriage.com/forumindex.php)
-   Politics (https://talkaboutmarriage.com/politics/)
-   -   whistleblower complaint against Trump (https://talkaboutmarriage.com/politics/436291-whistleblower-complaint-against-trump.html)

kari2 09-20-2019 10:33 PM

whistleblower complaint against Trump
 
What do you all think about the US national intelligence whistleblower complaint against Trump, i.e. should the complaint be shown to Congress? Should the whistleblower and the Inspector General have protection against retaliation?

VladDracul 09-21-2019 12:08 AM

Re: whistleblower complaint against Trump
 
I sure the Dems, hoping to get anything on Trump, will be running and barking like a bunch beagles chasing a rabbit. Common sense follows what Trump said, "“Knowing all of this, is anybody dumb enough to believe that I would say something inappropriate with a foreign leader while on such a potentially ‘heavily populated’ call." I don't think so. However, you've got to give Trump's enemies an "A" for effort.

phillybeffandswiss 09-21-2019 12:59 AM

Re: whistleblower complaint against Trump
 
All I think now is the fable “The Boy Who Cried Wolf.” At this point, you could give me a legit tape of Trump, in Russia, hacking the election and I’d call it and you “Fake News.”

arbitrator 09-21-2019 01:24 AM

Re: whistleblower complaint against Trump
 
Hopefully, enough to get House impeachment hearings going!

And by federal law, it's supposed to be referred to Congress for investigation!

And certainly not covered up for any politically advantageous reasons, especially those that were summarily hidden in the NSC servers involving Saudi Arabia, the Ukraine, and Russia!

Marc878 09-21-2019 04:01 AM

Re: whistleblower complaint against Trump
 
They can't win a general election. So far they have a senile hair smeller and 2 communists running.

I guess grasping at straws is a better alternative

SpinyNorman 09-21-2019 06:56 AM

Re: whistleblower complaint against Trump
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Marc878 (Post 19983305)
They can't win a general election. So far they have a senile hair smeller and 2 communists running.

I guess grasping at straws is a better alternative

No, the Ds can't win elections. That's why they're not in control of the House, and aren't in a position to investigate anyone.

And yes, Biden is the senile one and not Trump. You could examine the hundreds of times Trump has contradicted himself in his own tweets, or watch him being interviewed by Cokie Roberts whom he said he'd never met after her recent death, but thinking will get you kicked out of this sorority.

Why not just listen to the name-calller? It's more fun than thinking.

SpinyNorman 09-21-2019 06:57 AM

Re: whistleblower complaint against Trump
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by phillybeffandswiss (Post 19983235)
All I think now is the fable “The Boy Who Cried Wolf.” At this point, you could give me a legit tape of Trump, in Russia, hacking the election and I’d call it and you “Fake News.”

Was there a point when you wouldn't have said this?

SpinyNorman 09-21-2019 07:02 AM

Re: whistleblower complaint against Trump
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by VladDracul (Post 19983189)
I sure the Dems, hoping to get anything on Trump, will be running and barking like a bunch beagles chasing a rabbit. Common sense follows what Trump said, "“Knowing all of this, is anybody dumb enough to believe that I would say something inappropriate with a foreign leader while on such a potentially ‘heavily populated’ call." I don't think so. However, you've got to give Trump's enemies an "A" for effort.

I don't think Trump is dumb when he does blatantly unconstitutional things, he has simply gotten the message that the rules don't apply to him.

tech-novelist 09-21-2019 08:11 AM

Re: whistleblower complaint against Trump
 
I think it is hilarious that the media is now discussing Joe Biden's corruption, which they were studiously avoiding before this "big story" came out.

This is obviously 4D chess.

tech-novelist 09-21-2019 08:12 AM

Re: whistleblower complaint against Trump
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Marc878 (Post 19983305)
They can't win a general election. So far they have a senile hair smeller and 2 communists running.

I guess grasping at straws is a better alternative

Just 2?

It would be shorter to list which of their candidates aren't communists.

blahfridge 09-21-2019 08:28 AM

Re: whistleblower complaint against Trump
 
Really, is there anything that this president can do that won't be defended by his supporters? The law requires that this information be given to the House. The Law. Whether it's a valid complaint or not has zero to do with this fact. The truth will come out eventually. Let the system handle it the way it is supposed to.

As to the media's handling of this - The Wall Street Journal, that bastion of liberal bias (NOT) is the news outlet that provided the latest details. But that doesn't fit the evil crazy Democrats biased press out to get Trump narrative, does it?

PreRaph 09-21-2019 09:06 AM

Re: whistleblower complaint against Trump
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by blahfridge (Post 19983381)
Really, is there anything that this president can do that won't be defended by his supporters?

No.

Marc878 09-21-2019 10:42 AM

Re: whistleblower complaint against Trump
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by SpinyNorman (Post 19983341)
No, the Ds can't win elections. That's why they're not in control of the House, and aren't in a position to investigate anyone.

And yes, Biden is the senile one and not Trump. You could examine the hundreds of times Trump has contradicted himself in his own tweets, or watch him being interviewed by Cokie Roberts whom he said he'd never met after her recent death, but thinking will get you kicked out of this sorority.

Why not just listen to the name-calller? It's more fun than thinking.

Butt hurt Clinton supporters are so much fun and entertaining. >:)

kari2 09-21-2019 11:08 AM

Re: whistleblower complaint against Trump
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by phillybeffandswiss (Post 19983235)
All I think now is the fable “The Boy Who Cried Wolf.” At this point, you could give me a legit tape of Trump, in Russia, hacking the election and I’d call it and you “Fake News.”

Saying you wouldn't even believe a legit tape doesn't paint yourself in a good light. At the end of Aesop's Boy Who Cried Wolf, there was really a wolf who ate all the village's sheep. The story's main moral is to fault the boy for lying earlier, but one adult in the village should have checked out the situation anyway. A secondary lesson from that fable is that we can't assume that a known liar is always lying 100% of the time. Do you think Trump lies sometimes to the American people and does it mean that everything he says is a lie?

It is Trump's plan to make his fans jump to the conclusion that everything negative reported about him must be 'Fake News'. He said "What you're seeing and what you're reading is not what's happening" which is classic gaslighting.

Mueller found a few wolves/witches. Putin paid a whole building of people in St Petersburg to create trolling posts on US politics, is that fake news? A report from the Senate Intelligence committee concluded all 50 states election systems were targeted by Russian attempted hacking in 2016, do you think that is fake news? Trump's campaign manager Manafort did give Kliminick (Russian with connections to Russian military intelligence) private polling data, and offered or gave Oleg Derapaska (close oligargh to Putin) private briefings on the campaign. Trump was trying to make a deal for a Trump Tower in Moscow at the same time he was campaigning for president and telling us 'I have nothing to do with Russia'. There was evidence documented for all of those things I've said in this paragraph, do you not believe this evidence?

We all witnessed with our own eyes and ears on TV Trump saying "Russia if you're listening, if you could find Hillary's emails..." inviting them to hack, and later that same day Russia started hacking the DNC and Hillary's compaign manager Podesta, so not taken as a joke by Russia. And we all saw the Trump Jr "I love it" email and Trump's Stephanopoulos TV interview where he said he would still accept foreign help next time. Trump has done nothing about foreign election interference and evidently welcomes it if it helps him. Is this OK with you?

Anyway back to the whistleblower situation, the Intelligence Community Inspector General who says this is a serious and urgent matter is likely not a Democrat (a.k.a. a 'boy calling wolf') since he was appointed by the Trump administration. I don't think we know about whether the original whistleblower is D vs R, but regardless shouldn't the info be given to the Gang of Eight (who have top security clearance) for them to evaluate the complaint and look at the evidence?

phillybeffandswiss 09-21-2019 12:06 PM

Re: whistleblower complaint against Trump
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by SpinyNorman (Post 19983343)
Was there a point when you wouldn't have said this?

Sure. You can claim you always knew, but I give everyone at least two chances. Fool me once blah blah blah.

Yes, I did the same with Obama vs Repubs as well.

Quote:

Originally Posted by kari2 (Post 19983453)
Saying you wouldn't even believe a legit tape doesn't paint yourself in a good light. At the end of Aesop's Boy Who Cried Wolf, there was really a wolf who ate all the village's sheep. The story's main moral is to fault the boy for lying earlier, but one adult in the village should have checked out the situation anyway. A secondary lesson from that fable is that we can't assume that a known liar is always lying 100% of the time. Do you think Trump lies sometimes to the American people and does it mean that everything he says is a lie?

It is Trump's plan to make his fans jump to the conclusion that everything negative reported about him must be 'Fake News'. He said "What you're seeing and what you're reading is not what's happening" which is classic gaslighting.

Mueller found a few wolves/witches. Putin paid a whole building of people in St Petersburg to create trolling posts on US politics, is that fake news? A report from the Senate Intelligence committee concluded all 50 states election systems were targeted by Russian attempted hacking in 2016, do you think that is fake news? Trump's campaign manager Manafort did give Kliminick (Russian with connections to Russian military intelligence) private polling data, and offered or gave Oleg Derapaska (close oligargh to Putin) private briefings on the campaign. Trump was trying to make a deal for a Trump Tower in Moscow at the same time he was campaigning for president and telling us 'I have nothing to do with Russia'. There was evidence documented for all of those things I've said in this paragraph, do you not believe this evidence?

We all witnessed with our own eyes and ears on TV Trump saying "Russia if you're listening, if you could find Hillary's emails..." inviting them to hack, and later that same day Russia started hacking the DNC and Hillary's compaign manager Podesta, so not taken as a joke by Russia. And we all saw the Trump Jr "I love it" email and Trump's Stephanopoulos TV interview where he said he would still accept foreign help next time. Trump has done nothing about foreign election interference and evidently welcomes it if it helps him. Is this OK with you?

Anyway back to the whistleblower situation, the Intelligence Community Inspector General who says this is a serious and urgent matter is likely not a Democrat (a.k.a. a 'boy calling wolf') since he was appointed by the Trump administration. I don't think we know about whether the original whistleblower is D vs R, but regardless shouldn't the info be given to the Gang of Eight (who have top security clearance) for them to evaluate the complaint and look at the evidence?

Honestly, this is the internet and I don’t care what light it puts me in. It was sarcasm and exasperation. My point is it is ridiculous. From Obama swearing in on the Koran to A retracted attempt at another Kavavanaugh rape attempt, it is ridiculous. Blame the voters who didn’t turn out and quit digging and bolstering the other sides base because your side lost.

I mean I can dredge up doctored videos on both sides. I can cherry pick who said what all day long. I currently dislike both parties because they both point out flaws in each other, while later doing the EXACT same BS they were just crying about.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:27 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2007 - 2013 © Talk About Marriage

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome